Looking for numbers

In other blogposts (for my old company), I used to prepare a complete story. The disadvantage is, the posts wil be (too) long. On the other hand, the nice pictures, the 3D-graphs, will be available already. With AnRep3D I will report you about my journey and blog about the steps I take. The nice pictures won’t come in immediately, but let’s see if it works out!

For those who don’t know what AnRep3D does, here’s a short summary: AnRep3D stands for “Annual Reports visualised in 3D”. The product is a generator, able to convert a set of numbers (total assets, equity, revenue and profit for a series of companies in different years) in a spatial graph. An example is shown at anrep3d After clicking the picture or the link below, a HTML5/WebGL- graph  appears in your browser where it can be manipulated using a mouse. Just go there and try!

Before such a graph can be generated, the numbers have to be collected. We cannot get output without input, can we? To show the power of the AnRep3D type of graph, I thought it would be nice to have a look at the four large public banks we used to have in the Netherlands. We still have them, but a lot has changed during the crisis. Of course I am talking about ABN-AMRO, ING, Rabo and SNS (alphabetically).

abn-amroingrabosns

To start before the crisis in 2005 and to end in 2015 sounds like a good idea. And of course the year in the middle – 2010 – would be very interesting. As a result we would get a graph with four lanes of blocks from the left to the right (the four banks) and three rows from front to back (the three years, spanning a decade). Will the size have changed a lot in time? They’ve had there adventures, that’s for sure!

Where will I find those numbers? In the annual reports of course (other sources will present abstracts, but since 2005 is long ago I’m not so sure). So I started looking at the Internet and indeed I found eleven annual reports. ING 2010 was missing. I don’t know why, but the numbers will be in the 2011 version as well, because of the year to year comparison.

So now it’s time to take the next step: find the right numbers in the twelve annual reports I collected. I’ll keep you posted!

About AnRep3D

AnRep3D is the new company, founded after the handover of Scientassist (together with VRBI) to one of my sons. From now I will focus on three-dimensional graphs for the financial markets, showing the main figures from annual reports in comparison.
This entry was posted in Visualising Financial Information and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

