Visualising a mix of companies in a spatial graph (I)

In the previous post I presented a number of companies from different branches of industry, with a revenue between – roughly – 1 and 10 billion euros. Easyjet presented its annual report in GBP and Tesla in USD and a formal conversion is not easy. Earnings come in during the year, against fluctuating exchange rates , but the balance is a kind of photograph at the end of the year. On the other hand we know this is just a blog, illustrating the power of visualisation, using spatial (3D) graphs. So an error of about 5% wouldn’t harm. I like http://www.xe.com/currencycharts to convert the currencies but many others are available. After putting all values to euros using a 2015 average for the exchange-rate, I got this input-file:

Inputfile company-mix

Inputfile company-mix

For the people who want to look for themselves, e.g. using the free AnRep3D demo (fully functional, but showing only one company a time) I present the numbers below.

Zalando, 2015, 2960, 120, 1270, 2120

Tesla, 2015, 3690, -810, 830, 5320

Elecnor, 2015, 1880, 66, 7400, 3490

Easyjet, 2015, 6470, 760, 6670, 3100

USG_People, 2015, 2550, 20, 487, 1280

All values are in millions.

I have to admit I didn’t read my own manual (I wrote it myself, I know) and made a stupid mistake as a result (again). Now the parameter-line says: 5, 1, 500, 10, 3 meaning:

  • five companies
  • one annual value each
  • divide all values in data-lines by 500
  • put 10% of extra space between the buildings (because USG People is a long title)
  • choose font-size 3 for the labels

However, instead of 500 for the third value I entered 0.002. I thought it was a multiplier instead of the divider it actually is! One can imagine what happened: the building were huge, gigantic. Zooming out, the labels were nowhere to be found (of course not – their distance to the buildings was enormous as well).

After a while I realised what had happened and corrected the third value. This time the graph was normal and even very interesting . In the next blogpost I will show and discuss  this graph. Meanwhile, have a look at www.anrep3d.com or read the earlier AnRep3D posts.

About AnRep3D

AnRep3D is the new company, founded after the handover of Scientassist (together with VRBI) to one of my sons. From now I will focus on three-dimensional graphs for the financial markets, showing the main figures from annual reports in comparison.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Visualising Financial Information and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

